relinquished .

it is so very difficult to move when one has so many possessions. too many clothes, too many hair accessories, too much trash, not enough shoes. when they’re being packed into a box, piece by piece, awaiting the arrival into my next life, i must consider if i want to bring them at all.

consequently, i find myself leaving a lot behind, sometimes to others and sometimes to landfill. when i evacuated my parents’ residence, i gave up my collection of hats and a great number of soft toys. i also overlooked the importance of some of the items i gave up, such as my (very expensive) suitcase and my sleeping bag. but time, rather than need and want, i think, will heal these voids.

one day i will hoarde meaningful possessions without having to throw them away. but until then, i know that i have learnt to part with them without pain.

this time as i taped up my cardboard boxes and endeavoured to puzzle piece my possessions to make the most of my space, i found myself leaving behind many sentimental things that i had brought for no purpose other than for the memories they held. birthday cards, letters and small pieces of ribbon i had collected and imagined myself to look lovingly upon in the future all made it to the “trash” pile, while only a small number of photographs and unforgettables were placed in a small shoebox as their prize for being so cherished.

or maybe there are just some things i won’t let myself forget.

now let me share with you a piece that i wrote back in the days of inspiration. it’s my favourite.

Perfect

The word escapes from my lips

As it describes something

Beautiful, complete

Non-existent

The word gives the idea of something

Flawless, impeccable

Inconceivable

Unreal

Because as far as it goes

It stops before existence

    • {JOANNE
    • November 6th, 2009

    i gain so much insight from reading your blog liz ❤

  1. Lovely….It stops before existence….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

